O Rex Gentium

o-antiphons-symbols.jpg

A time of anticipation and patience. Christ is coming and there’s nothing you can do to stop Him!! It’s so exciting!!!! But am I ready for His coming? Did I prepare my heart?

For me this advent season has been different because of my situation. Living with priests and all we have morning and evening prayer together and mass almost everyday. This means I got to really reflect on the O antiphons. I’m sure many of you have never heard of the O antiphons but here is a quick explanation of what they are.

 

The O Antiphons are Magnificat antiphons used at Vespers of the last seven days of Advent in Western Christian traditions. They are also used as the alleluia verses on the same days in the Catholic Mass.

They are referred to as the “O Antiphons” because the title of each one begins with the interjection “O”.[1] Each antiphon is a name of Christ, one of his attributes mentioned in Scripture. They are:

  • December 17: O Sapientia (Wisdom)
  • December 18: O Adonai (Lord)
  • December 19: O Radix Jesse (Root of Jesse)
  • December 20: O Clavis David (O Key of David)
  • December 21: O Oriens (O Dayspring)
  • December 22: O Rex Gentium (O King of the nations)
  • December 23: O Emmanuel (With Us is God)

(taken from Wikipedia)

Today is O Rex Gentium: O King of the nations, the only joy of every human heart; O Keystone of the mighty arch of man, come and save the creature you fashioned from the dust. Isaiah had prophesied, For a child is born to us, a son is given us; upon his shoulder dominion rests. They name him Wonder-Counselor, God-Hero, Father-Forever, Prince of Peace. (9:5), and He shall judge between the nations, and impose terms on many peoples. They shall beat their swords into plowshares and their spears into pruning hooks; one nation shall not raise the sword against another, nor shall they train for war again. (2:4) .

Christ’s birth is almost here and I’m so pumped for it!!! Today is December 22nd and I’m leaving tonight to go to my parents place. I’ll be taking the bus at 10PM and will be getting to the city  tomorrow at 7:30 AM. It’s my first time taking the bus for such a long distance and I sure hope I will be able to sleep.

This might be far fetched but I kinda feel like Mary and Joseph going back to Bethlehem. It’s a long distance and a time of anticipation. Mary knew a bit about the things to come but not all of it. She knew she was going to give birth but what about after that? Just like I know I will see my family but what will I do after that?

How are you preparing for Christ’s coming?

-My Catholic Living

 

One thought on “O Rex Gentium

Leave a comment